Make Something Monday: Cake Batter Smoothie [a work in progress]

Confession: I have a new online love and her name is Chocolate Covered Katie.

Just as obsessed with dessert as I am, Katie’s blog is dedicated to making her favorite sweet indulgences healthy & vegan. I was over the moon when I stumbled across her Raw recipe for a Cake Batter Smoothie [she calls it a milkshake, but let's face it, it's a smoothie].  I’ve had an addiction for cake batter ice cream ever since I spent a college summer working right next to Maggie Moo’s and their several “better batter” varieties.  As a vegan, I have yet to find their equal [please let me know if you have].

The first thing I loved about Katie’s recipe was the short list of ingredients.  Unfortunately, that short list of ingredients doesn’t quite equal my favorite cake batter taste, but it was a start.  So, in a fit of determination, I rolled up my sleeves, o.d.’ed on the vanilla and threw a few of my own ideas into the mix:

Cake batter smoothie, no sprinkles required. (But be sure to check out Katie's colorful photos w/ sprinkles on her blog.)

Ingredients:

1 large banana, frozen
2 tbsp pure vanilla extract
3 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
1/2 c. coconut milk [homemade if you want it Raw]
2 tbsp almond butter
1 tbsp ground cashews

Place all ingredients in blender, process until smooth.

VTB Reader Challenge: While this smoothie tastes delicious, it still needs a little something extra to taste like cake batter. Chocolate Covered Katie’s readers have had some luck with adding butter extract, but that’s not raw.  Anyone have any Raw suggestions to imitate that flavor?  Or any other ideas all together?

2 thoughts on “Make Something Monday: Cake Batter Smoothie [a work in progress]

    • I thought about that too! My boyfriend suggested cinnamon would also be a great addition to the current flavor, not for cake batter taste, but in general. Although for now I’m a bit obsessed with getting the batter-y flavor down before adding any extra tastes into the mix. If you make it [in any variation], please let me know how you like it! :)

Leave a Reply

