From Eating Animals:

To Whom it May Concern at Tyson Foods:

I am following up on my previous letters of January 10, February 27, March 15, April 20, May 15, and June 7.  To reiterate, I am a new father, eager to learn as much as I can about the meat industry, in an effort to make informed decisions about what to feed my son.  Given that Tyson Foods is the world’s largest processor and marketer of chicken, beef, and pork, your company is an obvious place to start.  I would like to visit some of your farms and speak with company representatives about everything from the nuts and bolts of how your farms operate, to animal welfare and environmental issues.  If possible, I would also like to speak with some of your farmers.  I can make myself available at just about any time, and on relatively short notice, and am happy to travel as is needed.

Given your “family-centered philosophy” and recent “It’s What Your Family Deserves” advertising campaign, I assume you’ll appreciate my desire to see for myself where my son’s food comes from.

Thanks so much for your continued consideration.

Best,
Jonathan Safran Foer

I think what I admire most about Jonathan Safran Foer’s motivations behind writing Eating Animals is his lack of a grand agenda.

He’s not necessarily trying to turn the world vegetarian [though that would be nice].  He’s not trying to condemn anyone in the industry [even those who deserve it].  He’s simply trying to inform himself for the sake of his newborn child’s health, education, and future.  If he changes your mind about eating meat in the process, that’s simply a happy coincidence.

[Btw, Tyson never responded to his requests for a meeting…silence speaks so much louder than words.]

Leave a Reply

