Beta Male recommended Vegan Crab Cakes

Last month, during VTB’s interview with Beta Male’s Allison & David Hazel, it was mentioned that Allison makes some awesome vegan crab cakes.

This month, I decided to try my hand at one of Allison’s recommended recipes:

not-so crabby crab cakes.

The verdict: AMAZING!

While these crab cakes don’t exactly taste like crab, the sauce and the breading make for a delicious meal that definitely satisfies that “fried fish” craving.

My only complaint? Tempeh is SUPER filling so you really only need about half this recipe for two [but they’d make great appetizers for a party!].  The omnivore boyfriend and I could only finish off about 5 cakes between the two of us…and we usually have some pretty big appetites.

Also pictured from this delicious vegan meal: spinach salad [with red bell pepper and artichoke hearts] & vegan mashed potatoes [made with red skin spuds, Earth Balance butter, and a splash of almond milk]

2 thoughts on “Beta Male recommended Vegan Crab Cakes

  1. Woah, cool! I’m so glad you liked them. 🙂

    I made these tonight: http://hellyeahitsvegan.com/?p=1876

    They are unreal. This blogger has a lot of good stuff. Her cheez brats are great, too. I don’t know how you feel about fake meat, but we’re in the “pro” column and this chick does it right.

  2. I’m okay with most fake meats, but seitan doesn’t always agree with me so I try to avoid it whenever possible. I’ll be sure to check out that blog for other non-seitan recipes though so thank you!

Leave a Reply

