Tortillas & Tofu

Tofu is one of my favorite vegan products.  While certain other fake meats can sometimes turn my tummy [see: seitan], tofu is always on my side AND loaded with health benefits.

That’s why I was pretty excited to whip up my first homemade tofu scramble.

Inspired by the Tofu Mexicali Scramble from Skinny Bitch: The Ultimate Everyday Cookbook, I skipped out on items like refried beans [not a big fan] and cumin [not on the shelf] to make a simpler, yet still tasty version of these breakfast burritos:

salsa makes everything better.

Ingredients:
1 package extra firm tofu, drained
1/4 cup salsa
2 tbs olive oil [substituted for grapeseed oil]
1/2 small onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 orange bell pepper, chopped [substituted for green]
1/2 tsp salt
Pinch of chili powder
4 whole wheat tortillas
Fresh ground pepper, to taste

In a medium bowl, crumble the tofu and add the salsa. Set aside to marinate.
In a large saute pan, heat the oil over medium-high heat add the garlic and cook about 30 seconds.
Add the bell peppers & onion. Cook for an additional 3 to 4 minutes.
Add the tofu mixture, chili powder, salt, & pepper and cook 5 minutes.
Warm tortillas over stovetop flame for a few seconds [or use the oven or microwave as you wish].
Serve topped with tofu scrambled and salsa. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Tortillas & Tofu

  1. Oh, I do love a tofu scramble. I throw in nutritional yeast (aka vegan pixie dust) for a little extra I-don’t-know-what. And some turmeric for color. I didn’t see the point in turmeric for a long time, but I’m realizing that it has the power to fool me into thinking something is way better than it was just before I added it.

    • @allison: I actually have a jar of turmeric that I have yet to open. I’d been wondering if it had any purposed except for coloring, but I guess you’re right, the correct color could go a long way mentally.

Leave a Reply

