Raw Tools: What I’m Using

Going Raw: Everything You Need to Start Your Own Raw Food Diet and Lifestyle Revolution at Home

Judita Wignall: saving me from salad & smoothie overload

This book arrived just in time yesterday. After a little over a week of salads & smoothies, I was feeling a bit discouraged at my ability to stick to this lifestyle for the remainder of the month.  I needed variety, I needed a challenge, I NEEDED this book to finally arrive from Amazon.  Then, just like that, it did! I love Judita’s approach to the raw lifestyle.  With a background in nutrition, she sometimes uses non-raw ingredients [like maple syrup & wild rice] for their health benefits and flavor rather than avoid highly nutritious ingredients simply because they are not raw.  Because of this, some of the month’s 100% Raw recipes may not in fact be 100% raw, but they will be 100% nutritious.

Cooks 5-in-1 Power Blender

solo size: perfect for when the Omnivore doesn't want my smoothie breakfast.

I’ve had this little wonder for years, boxed up at the top of my kitchen cabinet.  Who would have thought that the gadget I’d been saving for some distant blender party would one day be used daily [and not for alcohol]?  With multiple attachments, strainers, and lids, this thing is a Raw lifesaver. Thanks, cousin Cori! 2008’s Christmas gift is getting more use than you could ever imagine.

Soon to be Used: Hamilton Beach Big Mouth Juice Extractor 

juice: breakfast of champions

Another neglected Christmas gift, this juicer from my sister has been boxed up above my cabinet ever since I burnt myself out doing a 3-day juice fast in early 2009. Perhaps it’s time to break it back out for a few Raw breakfasts?

Leave a Reply

