Make Something Monday*: Mistakes & Muffins

Very seldom do I stray far from a written recipe.  I’m still a baking novice and not quite confident in my substitution skills…except when it comes to flour.  Bouncing back & forth between spelt, whole wheat, all-purpose & the like has made me overly confident in my experimentations.  And it’s worked out…until my baked goods went gluten-free.

Thankfully, any disasters in the kitchen have been accepted by myself & the Omnivore as a welcomed challenge in culinary creativity.  Add a little more of this, a little more of that, and if all else fails, turn it into something new. Here are how two recent mistakes turned right with just a little bit of patience [and, sometimes, a lot more flour]:

Mistake #1: Chewy granola bar cookies

looks weird. tastes delicious.

This recipe started out as Babycakes’ Chips Ahoy! cookies. However, I didn’t have any oat flour or ground flax meal on hand…so I improvised.  The resulting cookies tastes just like the chewy chocolate chip granola bars from the days of school lunches. Delicious!

Ingredients

1 1/2 c oat flour Gluten-Free rolled oats, processed into a fine flour
1 c Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free baking flour
1 c beet sugar
1/4 c ground flax meal flax seeds
1/4 c arrowroot
1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 c + 2 tbsp coconut oil
6 tbsp applesauce, unsweetened
2 tbsp vanilla
1 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 F.
In a medium bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
Add wet ingredients and stir until combined & dough-like.
Stir in chocolate chips until evenly distributed.
Drop dough in portions the size of a tsp onto a greased or lined baking sheet.
Bake for 7 minutes, rotate sheet, bake 7 minutes more.
Remove from oven. Let cool. Enjoy.

Mistake #2: Blueberry pancake muffins

still blueberry. still breakfast. not pancakes.

Since my Gluten-free slightly-Samoa pancakes turned out so well, I decided to try a blueberry version.  However, because Bob’s Red Mill comes in rather small bags, I was running low on the all-purpose baking flour. I figured flour is flour, so I opened up a bag of brown rice flour from the same brand. Unfortunately, that one little change lead to pancakes that crumbled apart before they were even flipped. What’s a girl to do? Add a bunch more flour & make muffins, of course! Unfortunately, adding a little bit of this and a little bit of that means there’s no concrete record of the measurements I used. The point is: a baking disaster doesn’t mean you have to trash the batter, just make something new!

[*Editor’s Note: Apologies for this week’s Make Something Monday posting on a Tuesday. I could not for the life of me get my internet & WordPress to cooperate yesterday, hence, the tardiness.]

Leave a Reply

