Make Something Monday: A Lazy Girl’s Skinny Pasta

One of the greatest things about becoming more & more aware of the things you put in your mouth [insert snickering here], is getting to really understand what your body needs. It’s giving you signals every day about what you should and shouldn’t eat, but you may be too busy to notice.

Since going vegan, I’ve started picking up on a handful of my body’s signals and the knowledge it’s given me has drastically improved my existence. Dairy = acne. Sugar = lack of energy. And Gluten = food baby.

Today’s Make Something Monday is in honor of that last signal. While I am not highly allergic to gluten, consuming too much of it certainly does not make for a fun evening:
I feel fat, bloated, & usually awake the next morning with a stuffy nose & less than pleasant demeanor. So, whenever I can, I try to choose gluten-free options in order to allow for the occasional splurges when the occasion calls for them.

Enter: my first experience cooking brown rice pasta. Overall, a success!

I eat my pasta with chopsticks. See why at ** below.

Ingredients

1/3 – 1/2 package brown rice pasta spirals [I used Trader Joe’s brand.]
3 – 4 garlic cloves, chopped
2 – 3 bell peppers, chopped [or, if you’re lazy like I was tonight, 1 c frozen pepper strips*]
2 – 3 green onions, chopped
1 – 2 handfuls of spinach
red pepper flakes
himalayan sea salt
pepper
extra virgin olive oil for cooking [no measurements, but a few twirls should cover the pan]

For pasta:
Bring a pot of water to a boil & add pasta + a few turns of sea salt, if desired.
Test softness of pasta frequently. When desired texture has been reached, drain & rinse.

For veggies:
In a large skillet or wok, heat olive oil over low to medium heat.
Add garlic & cook until slightly browned.
Add peppers, onions, & seasoning to taste [salt, pepper, red pepper flakes].
*If using frozen vegetables, cook over heat until thawed.
Add spinach & cook until bright green & slightly soft, but not wilted.

Toss pasta in with veggies & serve topped with more pepper flakes &/or nutritional yeast.

**I have found that I have a problem with eating my food too fast. Not only is this bad for digestion, it is also bad for my waistline as it doesn’t allow my body to register when it’s full before I’m done. Because of this, I’ve started eating just about anything I can with chopsticks. It slows me down, looks cooler, & is just way more fun. I encourage you to play with your food as well!

Leave a Reply

