Make Something Monday [post something tuesday]: Gluten-free, Sugar-free Buckwheat Blueberry Muffins

I know, I know, I’m a bad blogger. This is a blog about vegan food & I’ve skipped the past two or three recipe posts.

I have two excuses:

1. I’ve been quite busy with work & school so I haven’t been baking much. This means that there aren’t many new recipes to post as of late.

2. Mondays are generally my days to catch up with class work & meet with clients. This means that by the time I even think about posting Make Something Monday, it’s already Tuesday.

But you have been very patient readers so now, better late than never, is a long awaited recipe, one of my newest favorites:

Gluten-free, Sugar-free Buckwheat Blueberry Muffins!

gluten-free. no xanthan gum. still baffled.

These muffins are so clean & wholesome that they make me want to bake them for small children. Their texture is different than that of a traditional muffin, but I kind of like it. They tastes like a bowl of hot cereal & fruit made spill-proof & travel-friendly. I’m still baffled by how a gluten-free muffin stays together without xanthan gum, but this one does so very well.

Ingredients [adapted ever so slightly from Food Doodles recipe]

1 1/2 c buckwheat*, processed into a semi-fine flour
[*I used Bob’s Red Mill buckwheat cereal & it worked great]
3 tbsp chia seeds
2 tbsp ground flax + 5 tbsp warm water
2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 c applesauce, unsweetened
2 tbsp vanilla
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted [or any other liquid oil]
4 tbsp maple syrup
1/3 c So Delicious coconut milk
1 1/4 c frozen blueberries

In a large bowl, whisk together ground buckwheat, chia seeds, & cinnamon.
In a smaller bowl, combine ground flax & water. Whisk together with fork before adding applesauce, vanilla, coconut oil, maple syrup, & coconut milk.
Pour wet ingredients into dry & stir together.
Gently fold in blueberries.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

