Make Something Monday: PBJ Brown Rice Porridge

So, I planned on this evening’s post to be about the delicious ginger/pumpkin cookies that just came out of my oven…but it’s a bit dark in my apartment to get a good photo just yet. Stay tuned. And to hold you over until then, here’s a quick bite of my breakfast creation from this morning: PBJ Brown Rice Porridge.

leftover brown rice + a PBJ craving = creative breakfast options

Ingredients

leftover brown rice [I had about 1/2 of the 1 cup I’d cooked a few nights ago]
1/4 c coconut milk
2 tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp all-fruit jelly [I used strawberry]
a dash of cinnamon

Place all ingredients into a medium sauce pan over medium heat, stir until coconut milk has been absorbed and peanut butter has melted.
Top with extra jelly or peanut butter if so desired.  Enjoy.

Note: This recipe is super filling. I couldn’t even finish the bowl.
I mean, it’s grains + nut butter…what did I expect? [see also peanut butter banana quinoa]
That being said, it’s still pretty tasty when you’re craving PBJ and out of gluten-free bread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

