Make Something Monday: Gluten-free, Vegan Banana Bread

While visiting the parentals over Christmas, there was very little for me to eat. Just when mom & dad were starting to get the hang of the vegan thing, I threw in gluten-free and it upset the whole system.

To be fair, my mother had asked me if there was anything that she could buy for me ahead of time, but knowing we would only be in town for a few days, I requested only coconut milk. I figured, at the very least, I could survive on that and a few bowls of bran cereal my dad always has on hand [not gluten free, but still something].

snowed in 2012

Unfortunately, what was supposed to be a 2 1/2 day trip, turned into a 5 day trip when a blizzard hit Christmas night and cancelled all our travel plans. There was no cereal [apparently my dad has moved on from that purchasing habit], but there WAS a large supply of overly ripe bananas.

So when we were finally able to go on a post-snow grocery run, I stocked up on some gluten-free baking supplies to make delicious, decadent, & totally dense banana bread. And thanks to my handy dandy Babycakes NYC app, I didn’t even miss my cookbooks.

banana bread

Apparently, the remains were completely devoured  by visiting family soon after I left…all omnivores, none of which could believe it was vegan.

Ingredients [altered slightly from the Babycakes recipe]

2 c all-purpose gluten-free flour [I was ecstatic to find Bisquick gluten-free pancake mix in small town Indiana]
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp xanthan gum [I omitted these because the flour mix contained some already]
1 tsp salt
1/2 c melted coconut oil
2/3 c maple syrup
2/3 c coconut milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
6 medium bananas, peeled & mashed [I think I used about 8 which was probably why my bread was so moist & delicious]
1 c walnuts, chopped

In a large bowl, sift together dry ingredients.
Add in coconut oil, syrup, milk, & vanilla, stir until combined.
Add mashed bananas to batter & stir until combined. Fold in walnuts.
Bake at 325 degrees for 35 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. [Rotate as needed to brown evenly.]
Let cool for 20 minutes, cut & serve with vegan butter or as is. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

