Quick Bite: PBJ smoothie

Have I mentioned how much I’m obsessed with PB&J sandwiches? They’re the perfect gateway lunch for any aspiring vegan. However, now that I’m a veteran veggie, I try to opt for a few more greens on my sandwich than a PB&J allows. That being said, I still get the occasional PB&J craving. Which is why I loved this PB&J smoothie recipe from Minimalist Baker. The most surprising part of this recipe: dates + blueberries = a somewhat grape jelly-like flavor*.

grape jelly flavor without the grapes.

Catwoman thinks this smoothie color looks purr-fect. (Sorry, I had to.)

*A note on grape jelly: I actually prefer my peanut butter with a strawberry companion. I’ve never liked the flavor of grape jelly. It reminds me less of yummy fresh grapes and more of artificially flavored Dymatapp or Pediasure. That being said, I loved the flavor in this smoothie. So either a. after years of refusing to consume grape jelly, I’ve grown to like the flavor without knowing it or b. this smoothie will disappoint grape jelly lovers everywhere for tasting nothing like the real thing. Either way, it’s darn delicious for what it is and the blueberries will boost your antioxidant levels to make up for any lack of grape goodness.

Bonus: Because the flavor of spinach covers well in blender recipes, you can add some optional greens to this type of PB&J without activating your gag reflex…kind of like this.

Ingredients [altered slightly from the Minimalist Baker recipe]

4 dates, pitted
1 tbsp peanut butter, creamy & preferably unsalted
1 small banana, frozen
3/4 c So Delicious coconut milk
1/3 c frozen blueberries
1 tbsp flax seed meal

Place all ingredients into blender & process until smooth.
Optional: garnish with a dollop of peanut butter on top for extra flavor. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

