Top 5 Fictional [and not so fictional] Writers That Inspire Me to Write

You may have noticed a bit of a blog absence lately, but it’s for good cause. You see, all my life, I’ve wanted to be paid as a writer and it’s finally happening, but I’m having trouble finding the balance between my paid gigs and this lovely blog. In addition to the schedule upset, I’m also in the process of finding a new direction, both in my life and in this website. I hope that you bare with me to see what’s to come.

Being a freelance writer is awesome. I’d actually love to do it full time [in case anyone’s hiring ;)], but there are the days that it’s hard to get motivated to sit down in front of the computer and just type [as opposed to spending hours aimlessly surfing facebook]. I have a rather unconventional way of dealing with tackling any task that seems difficult: I turn to fictional characters for inspiration. It may be childish, but if I can find a role model for my momentary writer’s block, I suddenly find motivation to get back to work. Perhaps I have a secret hope that this routine will one day suddenly transform me into my idols, but hey, at least it gets the deadlines met.

Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City

Perhaps every girl’s ultimate writing icon, Carrie Bradshaw has a voice that many have tried to imitate, but few succeed. I myself had my own Bradshaw moment several years back when I started a dating & relationships blog to discuss my single life in the city. I was ready and willing to totally embrace the dating world…so of course, that’s when I met the one boy who could put an end to it all [in a good way]. Nevertheless, I still enjoy having Carrie’s narration on in the background while I ponder the best juice for your skin or how to bake with agave. Different subjects, yes, but the same profession. And I particularly relate to the above experience every time I open a rewrite request from my editor.

Rebecca Bloomwood in Confessions of a Shopaholic

I love this movie so much that it nearly gave me a shopping problem the first time I saw it. Thankfully, my parents have thoroughly scared me away from using credit cards for any purchases I can’t immediately pay off.  I’ve never experienced the crushing debt Rebecca’s life revolves around. I have, however, experienced the feeling of working in one area of writing while wishing you were in another. And yes, I’ve Googled.

Andie Anderson in How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days

While Andie Anderson wants nothing more than to write an article that has more substance than Composure allows, it’s my secret dream to write something like her women’s magazine articles. Blame it on an entire adolescence spent under a stack of teen magazines, but I have a special place in my heart for the girly fluff pieces. I’m also quite fond of the scene full of vegan/vegetarian restaurant stereotypes…only I don’t wear that much black eyeliner when I serve.

Julie Powell in Julie & Julia

Even before Julie Powell entered my life, my favorite articles to write were the ones in which I put myself through experiments to report back about: I went 30 days without sugar to write an article for a friend’s [now defunct] webzine, I signed up for Match.com to access more material for my dating blog, I even started this website as an attempt to stick to my pledge to become vegan [mission accomplished!]. If I know I’m going to write about it later, I can hold myself accountable for any project I start. As for the motivation I get from this movie, what blogger doesn’t want her blog to lead to a book deal? Random House, I’m waiting.

Liz Gilbert in Eat Pray Love

Yet another real-life author turned seemingly fictional movie character [and the reason I realized I had to amend this blog title to include non-fictional writers]. I actually loved this movie, despite the criticism it may have received from some fans of the book. Admittedly, I do like the book more, but that’s because there’s so much of Elizabeth Gilbert’s journey that cannot be shown in a visual medium. Ironically enough, there are very few scenes in the movie in which Liz is actually writing. Nevertheless, this movie serves as my reminder that I cannot sit at my computer all day, every day and become a good writer. Occasionally, I must venture out into the world, have new experiences, feel pain, and embrace love…that’s what makes a great writer.

Leave a Reply

