Make Something Monday: Morning Matcha Muffins [Gluten-free, Vegan, Soy-Free]

I’m a big fan of green tea. Not just for the antioxidants and cancer-fighting benefits, but also for it’s unique, earthy taste. I especially love the flavor of matcha, a variety of green tea made from grinding the whole leaves into a powder and brewing them directly in the water. Matcha’s in my smoothies, it’s in my Starbucks, it’s even in my favorite Argo Tea muffin…as well as several buckets of sugar, I’m sure.

That’s why I decided to take it upon myself to create a matcha muffin that’s a little easier on the white stuff, but still heavy on sweetness. As always, I also wanted to make it gluten-free & vegan…and apparently I wasn’t the only one. A quick Google search came up with several recipes matching “gluten-free matcha muffins”, but one in particular caught my eye: Matcha Morning Muffins from Kathy over at at Healthy Happy Life.

I made a few alterations to sweeten things up a bit and it was my personal preference to lighten up on the ginger, but for the most part, these muffins are all Kathy’s doing…and a job well done. Earthy, sweet & plenty moist from the bananas, these may be my new go-to breakfast item. Just be sure to store them in an airtight container to avoid the dry out that happened when I left mine on the counter overnight.

matcha muffins

Ingredients [adapted slightly from the original]

1 1/3 c Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free flour
1 1/5 tbsp matcha powder
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp ground flax seeds
1/4 tsp salt
a dash of ginger
1/2 c maple syrup
2 bananas, mashed
1 c So Delicious coconut milk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
In a smaller bowl, mix together wet ingredients [including bananas].
Pour the wet mixture in with the dry mixture & stir until combined.
Spoon into greased muffin tins until 3/4 full.
Bake @ 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Optional: Add some blueberries into your batter for that little extra sweetness & a whole lot more antioxidants.

Leave a Reply

