Welcome to Water Week: The Benefits of Hydration

#waterweek

#waterweek 

The benefits of proper hydration are endless:

Want to feel less tired in the morning? Drink water.
Want to stop your food cravings? Drink water.
Want to rid yourself of a headache? Drink water.
Want to get over a cold? Drink water.
Want to feel less bloated? Drink water.
Want to have younger looking skin? Drink water.
Want to feel healthier overall? Drink water.

So why is it so hard for us to make hydration a priority? Even as a health coach, I find days that I’ve forgotten to drink enough water. Whether I’m busy at work or out running errands without my trusty travel bottle, it can be hard not to get so caught up in my day that I forget to take a sip.

Therefore, in an effort to better my hydration equation, I’ve decided to start a project:

This week, I promise to drink at least 8 ounces of water every waking hour of every day. Not only will this ensure that I’m drinking well over my body’s minimum requirement for hydration, it will also ensure that I’m not grouping all of my hydration on one end of the day or the other.

To keep track of my daily progress [and also to avoid going crazy keeping count in my head] I’ve downloaded a free iPhone app called Daily Water which allows me to check off my refreshments as I drink them. You can also set water reminders for each drinking time, but I fear that hourly alarms might become a bit tedious, not to mention annoying to those around me.

Want to follow along with your own hourly hydration challenge? Feel free to share photos of your hydration tools & happy, hydrated faces with me on instagram [@michelleshea #waterweek] or share your progress with everyone on the facebook fan page!

Until then, I’ll keep you posted on my own observations daily here.
Happy Hydrating!

