Quick Bite: Tropical Chia Pudding

A note on Chia Seeds: there is really no end to the benefits these little babies provide. They’re hydrating, full of protein, loaded with omega-3’s, and have 5x’s the calcium of milk. They’re also really good at helping with digestion & reducing bloat due to their high fiber content. Make them as pudding or throw them in your smoothies, just don’t eat them dry or they could slightly dehydrate you due to their moisture-absorbing capabilities.

I love chia pudding. It’s quick, it’s simple, and it never fails to satisfy my breakfast hunger. However, sometimes my bag of magic little seeds gets lost in my refrigerator and I forget about them for weeks on end. That’s why, after recommending chia pudding to a health coaching client yesterday, I was happy to revive my craving for them & whipped up this creation this morning:

tropical chia pudding

Minutes after posting this photo of my belated breakfast, a facebook friend exclaimed that it looked so delicious that he MUST try this recipe. It’s an easy recipe, but if you’ve never worked with chia seeds before they can be a bit intimidating, which is why I decided to do a quick post on my recipe.

The bad news is, when it comes to chia pudding, I rarely measure. The good news is, if your pudding still looks a little too runny after 10-15 minutes in the fridge, you can simply add more chia seeds to absorb the excess liquid or let it sit for 10 minutes longer and watch the seeds work their extra-absorbing magic.

Ingredients

For Pudding:
Chia seeds – enough to cover the bottom of your bowl*, keep in mind they’ll expand later
So Delicious coconut milk [or your favorite non-dairy milk] – enough to cover the seeds
a small drizzle of pure maple syrup
a splash of vanilla

For topping:
1 kiwi
1/2 apple
1 handful raw walnuts
a sprinkle of unsweetened coconut, shredded

In a cereal bowl, stir together pudding ingredients & place in fridge for anywhere from 10 minutes to overnight, depending on how early you’re preparing your meal.
Once your chia pudding has reached it’s desired texture [which looks something like thick tapioca], cut up your fruit & apply all of your toppings.
Sit down in a patch of sun & enjoy your tropical paradise in a bowl.

*Some recipes call for up to 1/2 cup of chia seeds, but I tend to make smaller servings of chia pudding topped with lots and lots of fruit. I find that I still get the benefits of the seeds without having to break the bank by constantly replenishing my supply. Over time, you’ll find your own preferred serving size. There are no rules. 🙂

Want to receive health tips & delicious recipes like this in your inbox? 
click here button

